The Kerry Road Race Championship for the Michael Blackwell Memorial Cup was won on his own by Matt Slattery, Killarney CC. The event promoted by Killorglin Credit Union Cycling Club on the testing 3 mile circuit in Kilgobnet was held in perfect racing conditions and attracted a field to match the day. Fifty nine riders signed on to race 12 laps of the circuit following a programme of youth racing. A break on the first lap by Maurice Lawlor of Tralee riding for St. Finbarr’s and Cian Hogan, Earl of Desmond was joined over subsequent laps by John Blackwell, Kanturk CC, Matt Slattery, Killarney CC, Niall Brosnan, The Edge with Daniel Clifford, Sportactive and Paul Griffin, Earl of Desmond being the last to go across. They built a lead of two minutes and kept it at that for the rest of the race.

At the finish, Matt Slattery attacked on the final lap and held on to win from a close fought affair between John Blackwell and Daniel Clifford with the old warhouse taking the scalp here. Paul Griffin was next home with outgoing champion Niall Brosnan piping Cian Horgan with Maurice Lawlor finishing off the front group. The bunch meanwhile was having its own battle with Louise Moriarty, Look Mum No Hands, doing much of the work with Killorglin riders Patrick O’Connor and Jamie O’Shea. However at the death Olympic oarsman Cathal Moynihan, Killarney CC took the honours for the bunch of 22.


Ov erall

1st Matt Slattery, Killarney CC

2nd John Blackwell, Kanturk CC

3rd Daniel Clifford, Sportactive

4th Paul Griffin, Earl of Desmond

5th Niall Brosnan, The Edge

6th Cian Hogan, Earl of Desmond


1st Matt Slattery, Killarney CC

2nd Cian Hogan, Earl of Desmond

3rd Thomas O’Flaherty, Earl of Desmond


1st Maurice Lawlor, St. Finbarr’s

2nd Jamie O’Shea, Killorglin CC

3rd Thomas Sheehy, Earl of Desmond CC

A 4

1st Cathal Moynihan, Killarney CC

2nd Donnacha Galvin, Chaingang CC

3rd Patrick O’Connor, Killarney CC


1st Louise Moriarty, Look Mum No Hands

2nd Brenda Curran, Chaingang CC

3rd Aileen Clifford, Chaingang CC

Over 40

1st John Blackwell, Kanturk CC

2nd John Crowley, Killarney CC

3rd Colin Lacey, Chaingang CC

Over 50

1st Kevin Griffin, Currow CC

2nd Tom Daly, unattached

3rd John Dowd, Killorglin CUCC

Over 60

1st Seamus Hoare, Earl of Desmond CC

Under 16

1st Dylan Foley, St. Finbarr’s

2nd Ciaran Moss, Chaingang CC


1st Earl of Desmond

2nd Killarney CC

3rd Killorglin CUCC

Under 12

1st Luke O’Sullivan, Beara

2nd Tom Knight, Dingle

3rd Patrick White, Killorglin CUCC

Under 14

1st Josie Knight, Dingle

2nd Ciaran Patterson, Killarney CC

3rd Darragh Curtin, Currow CC



[nggallery id=3]